Legoland Football Association revamps League and expels 21 clubs

The Legoland Football Association has ordered the shut down of 21 Italian-Lego clubs in a shock move that has stunned the SuperLeague.

The news came just one day after the LFA’s overweight president Mr Fifa suggested that his organisation would be reviewing the licenses of the League’s Italian-origin clubs.

There was speculation in the Lego media yesterday that Serie C1a and Serie C1b could be merged following the expulsion of up to 15 Italian-Lego clubs, however today’s announcement by the LFA has been even more dramatic.

Mr Fifa explained that the association had decided to expel the clubs as “they do not have enough supporters and are not good for the game and television money”. He rejected suggestions that the a rise in Lego nationalism was the reason for the expulsions calling the theory “crazy” and “absurd, like Playmobil”.

Among the clubs whose licenses have been revoked are former Serie A sides Juve Stabia and 1998/99 LFA Cup finalists Reggina. Other notable sides include Cremonese, Padova, Vicenza, Perugia and Piazenza. The fate of three clubs, current Serie A side Ravenna, former Serie A side Empoli and Serie B side Cagliari, has yet to be decided. The LFA said the fate of these will be decided in the coming week.

Meanwhile, who will replace the teams will be announced later in the week said Mr Fifa. “We will be considering how to fill the gaps in Serie B firstly and then what to do with Serie C. We will not rush the job” he said.

The LFA also announced that it is considering revamping the LFA Cup to make it easier to administer. There is a proposal to only include clubs from the top two divisions in next season’s competition and increase the prize money. Under the present format 182 clubs participate in the Cup.

Clubs whose licenses have been revoked (21): Atalanta, Juve Stabia, Palermo, Reggina, Salernitana, Udinese, Vicenza, Lecce, Lucchese, Padova, Perugia, Piacenza, Reggiana, Venezia, Verona, Bologna, Brescia, Chievo, Cremonese, Cuneo, Fidelis Andria.

Clubs whose licenses are under review (3): Cagliari, Empoli, Ravenna.

Clubs whose licenses have been renewed (13): Bari, Fiorentina, Foggia, Genoa, Inter, Juventus, Lazio, Milan, Napoli, Parma, Roma, Sampdoria, Torino.